成为注册代理

英属维尔京群岛(BVI)金融服务委员会 申请从事BVI信托及公司管理业务牌照须知

若计划在英属维尔京群岛(BVI)从事信托及公司管理业务,申请人必须向金融服务委员会申请获得牌照。据BVI《银行与信托公司法案(1990)》,现有五类信托牌照可供申请,各类牌照之业务范围如下:

  • 第一类信托牌照 – 发牌之业务目的为进行信托业务及企业管理业务。
  • 第二类信托牌照 - 发牌之业务目的仅限进行信托业务。
  • 第三类信托牌照 - 发牌之业务目的仅限进行企业管理业务。
  • 第二类受限信托牌照 – 一个第二类信托牌照可能会以受限形式发出。获发第二类受限信托牌照的申请人除可进行列于宣誓承诺书上不超过50个信托业务外,不可进行信托业务。
  • 第三类受限信托牌照 – 一个第三类信托牌照可能会以受限形式发出。获发第三类受限信托牌照的申请人除非提供公司董事、管理人以及名义股东之信息,否则不可为于维京群岛注册的公司提供企业服务。

若准备向委员会提交有关持牌业务的申请,申请人必须使用 核准表格及相关指引。 信托牌照申请人需填妥下列表格:

(i)     通用部分 – 申领金融服务业务提供者之牌照或证书

(ii)    第一部分 – 申领金融服务业务提供者之牌照或证书

(iii)  第二部分 – 于申领银行或信托业务牌照所需之额外信息

(iv)    第五部分 – 申请人自愿提供之额外信息;以及

(v)     第六部分 – 声明

准备申领牌照

申请人必须完成填妥所有核准表格以申领牌照。然而在申请人能够完整提交一份满意的申请前,仍有大量准备工作需要完成。

申请人在填写申请表前,可考虑如下准备步骤:

  • 决定即将从事的业务类型及业务牌照类型
  • 下载下列文件
  • 根据2009规管条例的要求准备一份商业计划书。相关监管条例条款如下:


    • 第一部分:业务原则
    • 第二部分:第一章 – 牌照
    • 第二部分:第三章 – 管理与控制
    • 第二部分:第四章 – 合规
    • 第二部分:第五章 – 外包
    • 第二部分:第六章 – 财务报表及审计
    • 第二部分:第七章 – 客户资产
    • 第二部分:第八章 – 其他义务与限制
    • 第五部分 – 信托公司和企业管理公司 (申请人若要开办一个管理信托公司,则须遵从《2009规管条例》中有关“其他牌照要求[管理信托公司]说明(xxx) – (xxxvi)”的指引并满足其中“第五部分第二章-管理信托公司”中的相关要求)
  • 决定如何满足企业管制的相关要求(谁来担任本地董事,高级职员,合规主任,洗钱报告官等)

与委员会的前期交流

申请人递交申请前,建议与金融服务委员会开展几次预备性交流讨论,以确保申请人完全了解申领牌照的步骤及要求,同时也让委员会能够及时发现问题,便于申请人在提交申请前有机会解决这些问题。

提交申请

申请必须通过一个获授权的BVI注册代理人或法律代表提交。于委员会官网可找到 注册代理人名录 

通常,于委员会官网亦可找到法律代表人名录。然而BVI金融服务委员会不为任何法律代表背书,亦不会推荐名单上的任何律所,且它们亦不受委员会规管。

在提交申请之前,请注册代理人或法律代表检阅所有申请文件是非常必要的,以确保申请满足所有规管要求,包括《核准表格及相关指引》、《2009规管条例》、《核准法人制度指引》、《2008国际反洗钱及反恐融资准则》及其修正案、《2008反洗钱规管条例》及其修正案以及其他相关法案及准则。

申请人不应依靠委员会的审核来发现错漏和问题。不完整的申请或将退回给申请人。

费用

申请人须将一笔不可退还的申请费连同牌照申请材料一并提交(详见2010金融服务委员会(费用)管理条例2010金融服务委员会(费用)管理条例修正。若申请费未交,申请将不予审核。

申请费、牌照费、年度牌照更新费如下表所列,且费用或有更改。申请人须确保根据《2010金融服务委员会(费用)管理条例》缴交相关费用。年度牌照更新费于每年1月31日前缴清。


规管保证金

《规管条例》第156和157条规定,依据《银行与信托公司法案(1990)》第12(4)(b)条,持牌人需向管委会交付规管保证金。上述条例亦明确了委员会要求交付保证金的目的,相关注释说明信息很有帮助。

申请人必须在获发牌照之前交付规定的保证金。比如第一类或第三类信托牌照申请人须缴纳的最低规管保证金如下表所示。保证金上限封顶100,000美元。


相关立法法规


该文件修正于2017年11月14日

*本文为中文译文,仅供参考;如有争议,一切以英文版为准。

Back to top

Become a Licensee

Obtaining a Licence to Conduct Trust and Company Management Business in the BVI

In order to conduct trust and company management business in the British Virgin Islands, a licence must be obtained by making an application to the Financial Services Commission. The Banks and Trust Companies Act, 1990 provides for the following categories of licence:

  • A Class I trust licence, for the purposes of carrying on trust business and company management business;
  • A Class II trust licence, for the purpose of carrying on trust business only;
  • A Class III trust licence, for the purpose of carrying on company management business only;
  • A Class II trust licence may be issued as a restricted Class II licence, in which case the holder of the licence shall not undertake trust business other than in connection with those trusts, not exceeding fifty, listed in a sworn undertaking; and
  • A Class III trust licence may be issued as a restricted Class III licence, in which case the holder of the licence shall undertake no company management business, other than the provision of directors and officers, and nominee shareholders, for Virgin Islands companies.

Any person wishing to submit an application to the Commission in respect of a licensed business activity must do so by utilizing the Approved Forms and Related Guidelines. Applicants for a trust licence are required to complete the following forms:

(i)   General Part – Application for a Licence or Certificate as a Financial Services Business Provider;
(ii)   Part 1 – Application for a Licence or Certificate as a Financial Services Business Provider;
(iii)  Part 2 – Additional Information Required in the case of a Banking or Fiduciary Business Licence Application;
(iv)  Part 5 – Additional Information the Applicant wishes to Provide; and
(v)   Part 6 – Declaration.

Preparing to apply for a licence

To apply for a licence, an applicant must complete the approved application forms. However, a significant amount of work is required before an applicant is able to complete and submit a satisfactory application.

An applicant may wish to consider the following steps before completing the application forms:

  • Prepare a business plan in accordance with the requirements of the Regulatory Code, 2009. The following sections of the Regulatory Code are also relevant:
    • Part I Principles for Business
    • Part II Division 1 - Licensing 
    • Part II Division 2 – Fit and Proper Criteria (see Regulatory (Amendment) Code, 2010 regarding amendments to Fit and Proper Criteria
    • Part II Division 3 – Management and Control 
    • Part II Division 4 – Compliance 
    • Part II Division 5 – Outsourcing 
    • Part II Division 6 – Financial Statements, Audit 
    • Part II Division 7 – Customer Assets 
    • Part II Division 8 – Other Obligations and Restrictions 
    • Part V – Trust Companies and Company Management Companies (applicants that wish to operate as a Managed Trust Company must be guided by Additional Licensing Criteria [Managed Trust Companies] Explanatory Notes (xxx) - (xxxvi) of the Regulatory Code, 2009 and meet the requirements of Part V Division 2 – Managed Trust Companies)
  • Determine how corporate governance requirements will be met (who will be resident directors, senior officers, compliance officer, money laundering reporting officer, etc).

Preliminary Discussions with the Commission

Prior to submitting an application, applicants are also encouraged to hold preliminary discussions with the Financial Services Commission. Such discussions help to ensure that the potential applicant understands the licensing process and requirements and enable the Commission to identify significant issues of concern. The potential applicant then has an opportunity to take actions to deal with these concerns prior to submitting its formal application.

Submitting an Application

Applications must be received through an authorized British Virgin Islands Registered Agent or Legal Advocate. A  directory of Registered Agents is published on the Commission’s website.

As a courtesy, a directory of Legal Advocates is also published on the Commission’s website. The BVI Financial Services Commission does not endorse or recommend the entities named on the list neither are these entities subject to regulation by the Commission.

Before submitting an application, it is imperative that the Registered Agent or Legal Advocate review it for completeness, that is, to ensure that it meets ALL the requirements of the Approved Forms and Related Guidelines, the Regulatory Code, 2009, the Guidelines for the Approved Persons Regime, the Anti-Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing Code of Practice, 2008 (and its Amendments), The Anti-Money Laundering Regulations, 2008 (and the Amendments) and other relevant legislation and guidelines.

Applicants should not rely on the Commission’s review process to identify errors and omissions in their application. Incomplete applications may be returned to the applicant.

Fees

A non-refundable application fee must accompany an application for a licence (see Financial Services Commission (Fees) Regulations, 2010) and Financial Services Commission (Fees) (Amendment) Regulations, 2010. An application will not be processed if the fee is not received.

Application fees, licence fees and annual licence renewal fees are given below. Fees are subject to change; applicants must ensure that fees are submitted in accordance with the Financial Services Commission (Fees) Regulations, 2010. Annual Licence Renewal Fees are payable no later than 31st January of each year.



Regulatory Deposit

Sections 156 and 157 of the Regulatory Code prescribe the deposits required to be made by licensees under section 12(4)(b) of the Banks and Trust Companies Act, 1990 and the manner in which regulatory deposits are to be made and retained by the Commission. Furthermore, those sections specify the purposes for which a regulatory deposit may be utilised by the Commission. The relevant explanatory notes are also useful.

An applicant must pay the required regulatory deposit before the licence is granted. In the case of an applicant for a Class I or a Class III trust licence, the minimum regulatory deposits are given below. The maximum regulatory deposit is $100,000.


Available for Download

Information Source: File "British Virgin Islands Financial Services Commission Obtaining a Licence to Conduct Trust and Company Management Business in the BVI" (Revised 14th November 2017)

Back to top